In 2007 NARIT initiated the Southeast Asia Astronomy Network(SEAAN) with its aim to strengthen the research work and education activities among the ten member countries in South East Asia, namely, the State of Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, The Union of Myanmar, the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Vietnam.


The first meeting of the Southeast Asia Astronomy Network (SEAAN2007) was held during the Thai National Astronomy Meeting (TNAM2007), 22-24 March 2007, hosted by NARIT and the Thai Ministry of Science and Technology.  Four science working groups were established:


?       WG1 Radio Astronomy(Zamri Zainal Abidin: chair)

?       WG2 Optical Astronomy(Boonrucksar Soonthornthum: chair)

?       WG3 Theoretical Astrophysics and Cosmology(Burin Gumjudpai: chair)

?       WG4 Cosmic Rays and Solar Physics(David Ruffolo: chair)


The 2nd SEAAN Meeting was held on 17 February 2010 in Cebu, in the Philippines.


In May 2013 a new specialist group within SEAAN held its first meeting, at NARIT in Thailand. Titled, SEA-MODA, for SEAAN Modelling and Data Analysis in Astronomy, it proposed the formation of two new Program Groups:


?       PG(A) High Performance Computing

?       PG (B) Astronomical Data Processing and Archiving


The President of the SEAAN is Professor Boonrucksar Soonthornthum, Director of the National Astronomical Research Institute of Thailand ([email protected]) and the Secretary is Dr Hakim Malasan from the Bosscha Observatory and Institut Teknologi Bandung in Indonesia ([email protected]).


For further information, including details of the up-coming 5th SEAAN Meeting, in Malaysia, on 17-18 December 2013 refer to the following web site: